Lab Alums

Arturo Valdez, BS 2022

Arturo did undergraduate research for almost two years, as part of the UCSC STEM Div program. He worked with Raymond Lopez Magaña on TlpD.

Frida Salgado, MS 2021

Frida completed her MS in the Ottemann lab in December 2021, entitled "Characterizing the Role of HPG27_526 in H. pylori AI-2 Export and Biofilms". She's curently using her MS as a Molecular Biologist for the San Diego Public Health Lab Biowatch program.

Cande Bernal, MS 2021

Cande completed his MS in May 2021, with a thesis entitled "Analysis of the roles of Helicobacter pylori lactate utilization genes in lactate-supplemented growth and bacterial pathogenesis".

Kevin Johnson, Ph.D. 2021

Kevin completed his Ph.D. dissertation titled "Characterizing the function of the Helicobacter pylori chemoreceptor TlpA and its role in regulating biogeography and inflammation in vivo". The work is described in Johnson et al. 2021. He now works as a Scientist at Sciolta Therapeutics. Follow Kevin at Linked In.

Skander Hathroubi, Ph.D. Postdoc 2016-2019.

Skander brought the love of H. pylori biofilms to the Ottemann lab. You can read about his findings in his four publications so far! After his time at UCSC, he started a Senior Research Associate position in the group of Regine Hengge in Berlin, Germany. Follow Skander at his Web Page or Linked In.

Francesca Batac, M.S. 2018

Francesca completed her MS in collaboration with Melissa Miller, DVM, and returned to her work for the California Department of Fish and Wildlife as a Environmental Scientist/Sea Otter Biologist. Her M.S. thesis is entitled "Investigating the prevalence and pathogenesis of Helicobacterinfections in southern sea otters (Enhydra lutris nereis)". You can read Francesca's work in Frontiers in Marine Science here, and follow her at Linked In

Jashwin Sagoo, BS. 2019

Jashwin worked initially on the chemotaxis protein stoichiometry project and then transition to a leadership role analyzing H. pylori chemotaxis suppressor mutants through whole genome sequencing. He is currently a Microbiologist/RAII at Resilience. Follow Jashwin at Linked In.

Julia Zerebinski, B.S. 2018

Julia carried out undergraduate research on H. pylori biofilms. Part of her project was publshed in Hathroubi, Zerebinski, and Ottemann, Mbio 2018. She is currently a PhD student in Sweden at the Karolinska Institute, studying malaria genomics and immunology.

PhD, MS and Junior Specialist Alums before 2017

  • 2017. Kieran Collins, Ph.D.

  • 2017-2013. Daniela Kielberg Ph.D., postdoctoral studies

  • 2016. Andrew Liu

  • 2016. Samar Abbedrabbo, Ph.D.

  • 2014. Wiliam Sause, Ph.D.

  • 2013. Juan Castellon, M.S.

  • 2012. Annah Rolig, Ph.D.

  • 2011. Lisa Collison, M.S.

  • 2011. Papahavee Lertsethtakarn, Ph.D.

  • 2010-2009. Khalid Mehmood, Ph.D. postdoctoral studies

  • 2010. Jenny Draper, Ph.D.

  • 2008-2003. Andrea Castillo, Ph.D. postdoctoral studies

  • 2007. Andrew Lowenthal, Ph.D.

  • 2006. Karianne Terry, Ph.D.

  • 2003-2006. Tessa Andermann

  • 2003-2005. Alvin Go

  • 2004. Ting Chen, M.S.

  • 2001-2000. Lynn Connolly, MD Ph.D. postdoctoral studies

  • 1999-2001. Mary Cashman